lentini\’s crap digest

Monday, 2 April, 2007

Playstation 3 – an honest review

Filed under: Posts about me — lentini @ 11:12 am

Since the PS3 was launched in the US, I’ve been tempted to get one. Although, I’ve been gaming in high-definition for the last year thanks to the wonderous XBox360 so I didn’t really feel the need to buy one. Plus Sony screwing us Europeans with the ludicrous £425 retail price and the lack of the PS2 chip in our consoles really put me off.

That was until last week when I went up my mates house to sort out his PC. When I got there, he was playing Motorstorm so I decided to see what all the fuss was about. It was a riot, a kind of a cross between Colin McRae Rally and Burnout. I decided to buy one there and then and, lucky for me, all the shops were shut otherwise I would’ve spunked 425 quid on a gimped UK model.

Anyways, to cut a long story short I bought a Hong Kong console for 300 quid (so I could have the hardware backwards compatability that Sony had promised and access to cheap Region A Blu-Ray discs) and picked up a UK copy of Motorstorm. Been using it non-stop over the weekend and here are my impressions.

The Console

ps3.jpg

Well it’s a heavy beast. Very shiny and a dust magnet. It also feels very well put together and looks pretty. Comparing it to the 360 I think it looks a bit too blingy and I prefer the 360’s understated white look. It’s also a hell of a lot quieter than the 360 but not as silent as some people have made out but boy does it pump out some heat!

The Interface

Having previously owned a PSP I was right at home with the PS3’s interface. It uses the same layout as the PSP’s XMB and it’s pretty straight forward to use. Compared to the 360’s garish dashboard, it looks very slick with it’s muted colours.

The Games

This section is the make or break of any console. It would be a bit unfair to compare the current 360 titles like Gears of War against the PS3’s launch titles so I’m not going to go there. Instead I’m going to give the first impressions of a long term gamer.

Motorstorm – this is the first title I played on a PS3 and made me want to buy one it’s that good. Like I’ve mention previously, it’s a cross between Colin McRae and Burnout and a great laugh online (more on that later). Graphics are very impressive for a launch title, the soundtrack is fantastic (anything with Wolf Mother on it’s soundtrack gets a thumbs up from me) and it’s extremely addictive.
Resistance: Fall of Man – I haven’t played much of this and quite frankly it didn’t impress me that much to make me want to play it. The look of the game is a bit bland and the character models look quite dated. Compared to Call of Duty 2 which I played through on the 360 (twice in fact), RFOM doesn’t even come close. There’s no feeling of atmosphere or danger when there’s a hoard of aliens pounding you with gunfire like in COD2.
Ridge Racer 7 – I owned Riiiidge Raaaaaceer 6 on the 360 and this is pretty much the same game but with a slightly better look. Graphics are a bit brighter and colourful but that’s it really. If you’re a fan of Ridge Racer games and you haven’t owned or played the 360 version, get it.
Tiger Woods 2007 – Identical to the 360 version. ‘Nuff said.
Formula 1 – A big turd. Looks nice but you’d go off your head with boredom. For Formula 1 nerds only.

Online service

This is where the XBox360 shines. I don’t care how much of a Sony fanboy you are, the PSNetwork is nothing compared to XBox Live. Yes, XBox Live costs £40 a year (20 quid if you get the codes from eBay) whereas PSN is free but I think you get what you pay for. The biggest problem with going from Live to PSN is the game intergration with PSN is non-existant. Live has everything available at the touch of a button…message access, game invites, friends lists, player lists……with PSN, to read or send messages you need to quit the game to the XMB. Using PSN over the weekend just felt frustrating and horrible.
Actually playing some games online I found a real good experience. Playing some Motorstorm with 12 people is lag free and a great laugh but this bring another problem with PSN…no unified voice comms. XBox Live’s voice chat is great and works brilliantly. PSN’s on the otherhand seems like a botch job. Not every online games supports it and everyone is using a mish-mash of different bluetooth headsets. My and my mate tried getting it working in Motorstorm and in the end we just gave up.
All in all, f Sony actually invested some time into online gaming to get something that matches XBox Live, I think they’d have a serious competition to Microsofts service. Until then, if online gaming is your thing, get a 360.

Online store

XBox Live Marketplace and Playstation Store are comparable with each other with the only big difference is that Live uses a Points system for purchasing (1000 points cost £8.50) and the PS Store using hard currency. I made my first purchase on Saturday, the game in question was flOw and cost me £3.49. As you can only add money to you account in £5 blocks, I now have £1.51 sitting there doing nothing. Why you can’t just buy things straight off is stupid.

Closing thoughts

The PS3 is nowhere near the all conquering console that Sony leads us to believe. Yes it’s a good looking, well built system with a lot of promise but we’re yet to see anything that the Xbox360 isn’t capable of doing. It’s launched with a pretty dismal collection of games, most of which have been available on the 360 for a while and are no better, the only standout game of the lot is Motorstorm. It’s online network is WAY behind that of Microsofts offering. Once the next wave of games start to show what the PS3 is really made of and if Sony gets is arse into gear over it’s online capabilities, maybe it can hold it’s own in this next-gen war.

Would I recommend one over the XBox360?…at the moment, no. But it’s early days…

1 Comment »

  1. hello!,I like your writing so a lot! proportion we be in contact more about your article on AOL?
    I need an expert on this space to solve my problem.
    Maybe that is you! Taking a look forward to see you.

    Comment by words to songs gospel — Wednesday, 4 June, 2014 @ 9:29 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

