lentini\’s crap digest

Monday, 12 March, 2007

High-Definition binge

Filed under: Posts about me — lentini @ 7:13 pm

Over the last month, I’ve been on a high-def binge. I’ve thought about buying a bigger TV for ages, upgrading my 5 year old Sony KV32LS60 CRT workhorse to something a bit more aesthetically pleasing. With Plasma and LCD panel prices plummeting, I decided to splash out. Took me a month or two of research to find the perfect TV until I found it, a Toshiba 37WLT68. I originally wanted a Sony 40″ LCD but thought it’d be way to big for my small living room so I settled on a 37″. As Sony don’t do 37″ panels, I went for the Tosh.

The Matrix via XBox360 Media Center streaming over network - 720p
Equipment, left to right:
Top-left shelf: XBox360 HD-DVD Drive (plus my controller and media remote)
Bottom-left shelf: XBox360 (connection: Component outputting 1080p)
Middle shelf: Yamaha RX-V595 amp
Top-right shelf: Toshiba SD-360E upscaling DVD player (connection: HDMI outputting 1080i)
Bottom-right shelf: SkyHD box (connection: HDMI outputting 1080i)

    Some screenshots

Random HD clip via XBox360 Media Center streaming over network - 720p King Kong HD trailer via XBox360 Media Center streaming over network - 720p King Kong HD trailer via XBox360 Media Center streaming over network - 720p Spider-Man 3 HD trailer via XBox360 Media Center streaming over network - 720p Spider-Man 3 HD trailer via XBox360 Media Center streaming over network - 720p
All running through my XBox360 in Media Center, being streamed over the network.

Ugly Betty - Channel 4 via RGB SCART, upscaled by the TV to 1080i Battle Royale - Film 4 via RGB SCART, upscaled by the TV to 1080i Pirates of the Carribean - BBC1 via RGB SCART, upscaled by the TV to 1080i Skins - E4 via RGB SCART, upscaled by the TV to 1080i
All running via RGB SCART through my old Pace v2 Sky+ box (before I upgraded to SkyHD)

Couch potato
Even my cat loves HD

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

